How to File for Divorce in San Bernardino County

One of the first things you need to do if you are navigating how to file for divorce in San Bernardino County is to locate the proper court where to file for divorce.  San Bernardino County has three courthouses with a family law division:

You can learn where to file on the San Bernardino County Superior Court’s website.   You can file based on your own location or your spouse’s.  California requires that at least one spouse has lived in California for the past six months and San Bernardino County for three months before filling.

Legal Forms Needed to File for Divorce in San Bernardino County

The next step in figuring out how to file for divorce in San Bernardino County is to complete required forms.  The state of California requires a Petition- Marriage/Domestic Partnership (FL-100).  This form is fairly basic.  The form asks for you to list all assets and debts you believe are separate property and all assets and debts you believe are community property.  Unless there are very few assets, this will require you to attach a Property Declaration (FL-160) to the filing.  The court also requires a Summons (FL-110) to inform your spouse of you filed for divorce and he/she has 30 days to respond and a Proof of Service (FL- 115) which tells the court you served the papers on your spouse.  If you and your spouse have children, the court requires Declaration Under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act (FL-105) which informs the court of the current custody arrangements.  There is also an optional form, Child Custody and Visitation (Parenting Time) Application Attachment (FL-311) that allows you to propose a custody and visitation arrangement.

California Divorce Checklist

Download our detailed checklist on how to file for and complete your California divorce.
DOWNLOAD

San Bernardino County has self-help resource centers that can help with the basics of how to file for divorce.  The courthouses in San Bernardino, Joshua Tree, Victorville, as well as the Rancho Cucamonga law library offer help with the process of how to file for divorce in San Bernardino County.  They can review forms.  The self-help centers do not require an appointment and people are seen on a first come, first serve basis.  The self-help centers in San Bernardino county only offer help to people who do not have a lawyer.  The San Bernardino and Victorville offers document review on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays.  The Rancho Cucamonga branch offers document review on Fridays, and the Joshua Tree location offers document review on the second and fourth Fridays of the month.

Once the forms are filled out correctly, they are ready to be filed.  There is a $435 filing fee, which can be waived.  Court documents can be filed in person, by mail, by dropbox, or electronically through Turbocourt.  These steps explain how to file for divorce in San Bernardino County.  Once the divorce is filed, it will take a minimum of six months before the divorce can be finalized, but may take longer depending on the complexity of the issues and the contentiousness of the couple.

You will also have to exchange financial disclosures and complete final judgment documents.

SD Esquire Flat Fee Divorce Service

SD Esquire provides flat fee uncontested divorce services. We will prepare the legal documents you need to file for and complete your divorce.  This includes preparing and filling your divorce petition, completing your financial disclsoures, and drafting your marital settlement agreement (MSA). Our uncontested flat fee divorce service starts at $1500 for standard divorce (you are responsible for paying court filling fees).  The fee also includes service of process fees. You can make installment payments as your case progresses. It costs $500 to start your matter. Sign up today to get started.

California Divorce Quick Start Guide by Kym Morris, Esq.
Sign Up to Get Free Download
Take Control Of Your Divorce
Download 
Click Me
close-image