How to File for Divorce in Riverside County
One of the first things you need to do if you are navigating how to file for divorce in Riverside County is to locate the proper court. The Riverside Family Law Courthouse is located at 4175 Main Street, Riverside, Ca. 92501. You or your spouse must have resided in Riverside County for at least three months before filing for divorce.
Riverside County Divorce Forms
Once you meet the residency requirements to file for divorce, the next step in the divorce process consists of completing the required forms. The spouse filling for divorce must complete the Petition- Marriage/Domestic Partnership (FL-100). This form is fairly basic. The form asks for you to list all assets and debts you believe are separate property and all assets and debts you believe are community property. Unless there are very few assets, this will require you to attach a Property Declaration (FL-160) to the filing. The court also requires a Summons (FL-110) to inform your spouse that you have filed for divorce and he/she has 30 days to respond; a Proof of Service (FL- 115) which tells the court you served the papers on your spouse. If you and your spouse have children, the court requires you to complete the Declaration Under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act (FL-105) which informs the court of the current custody arrangements. There is also an optional form, Child Custody and Visitation (Parenting Time) Application Attachment (FL-311) that allows you to propose a custody and visitation arrangement. In addition to the forms required by the State, Riverside County also requires a declaration of residence and a county specific cover sheet.
Riverside County has self-help resource centers that can help you complete the forms you need to file for divorce in Riverside County. The courthouses in Riverside, Murrieta, Hemet, and Indio have family law centers that offer workshops in how to fill out divorce forms and how to file for divorce in Riverside County. The workshops last between 2-3 hours. Each court has a different workshop schedule, but the divorce workshops are regularly offered at the Indio location on Tuesdays at 9 a.m. The workshops are limited to 15 people and reservations can be made by phone. The self-help centers also help with forms and filings to people who do not have a lawyer. The centers are open five days a week.
Once your forms are filled out correctly, submit them to the clerk’s office for filling. There is a $435 filing fee, which can be waived. Court documents can be filed in person, by mail, by fax (and additional fee applies if filing by fax), and efax. These steps explain how to file for divorce in Riverside County. Once the divorce is filed, it will take a minimum of six months before the divorce can be finalized, but may take longer depending on the complexity of the issues and the contentiousness of the couple.
SD Esquire Flat Fee Divorce Service
SD Esquire provides flat fee uncontested divorce services to pro se litigants. We will prepare the legal documents you need to file for and complete your divorce. Our attorney will serve as a third-party neutral mediator. Our flat fee legal document preparation services start at $495 for Summary Dissolution and $695 for standard divorce.
We also provide an California Online Divorce Course that provides pro se parties with detailed video instructions on how to complete a California divorce. Our course starts at $99 per month. We also prepare the legal documents for parties who would like professional assistance with filling for divorce in California. Sign up today to get started.