How to File for Divorce in Orange County

Filing for divorce in Orange County is a straightforward process. It takes a minimum of six months to obtain a divorce judgment once the opposing party is served. Read on to learn more about filling for divorce in Orange County.

Orange County Local Forms and Court Location

The Orange County divorce court is located at  the Lamoreaux Justice Center. The court hears family law matters at this location:

 Lamoreaux Justice Center

341 The City Drive South

Orange, CA 92683-4593

All family law documents relating to legal separation or dissolution of marriage must be filed at this courthouse. This location also provides self-help resources to parties. For example, if you are representing yourself in a divorce, you may want to consider attending the Ending Your Marriage or Domestic Partnership Online WorkshopOur California Divorce Attorney YouTube Channel also has information on the California Divorce Process. You can also take our free online California divorce ecourse to learn about how to get a divorce in California.

Orange County Divorce Process

To file for divorce in Orange County, California, you must first meet the divorce residency requirements. You or your spouse must be a resident of the state of California for at least six (6) months before filling the Petition for Dissolution. In addition, you or your spouse must also have lived in the county in which the petition is filed for at least three (3) months before filling. If you and your spouse live in separate counties, file for divorce in your current county after residing there for three (3) months.  File for a legal separation if you do not meet California divorce residency requirements. Once you meet the residency requirements, you can amend the petition and request a divorce.

You will need to prepare the following forms to file for divorce in Orange County:

You must complete the forms above and any applicable attachments to file for divorce in Orange County. The court requires all petitioners to pay a $435 divorce filing fee. You may request a fee waiver if you are unable to pay this amount.

Once your case is filed with the court, you will need to serve your spouse with a copy of the filed documents long with providing a preliminary financial disclosure. Your case may proceed with a default judgment if your spouse fails to respond to the divorce petition. You can also enter into a stipulated agreement with your spouse to settle your Orange County divorce case.

Here is a comprehensive California divorce checklist on the forms you may need to complete your Orange County divorce. You may be required to complete additional local forms.

Hiring an Orange County Divorce Attorney to File for Divorce

Hire an Orange County divorce attorney if you do not feel comftorable navigating the divorce process on your own or have many assets. Our California uncontested divorce attorney can complete the divorce process on your behalf for a reasonable price with little to no court appearances.

SD Esquire Flat Fee Divorce Service

SD Esquire provides flat fee uncontested divorce services. We will prepare the legal documents you need to file for and complete your divorce.  This includes preparing and filling your divorce petition, completing your financial disclsoures, and drafting your marital settlement agreement (MSA). Our uncontested flat fee divorce service starts at $1500 for standard divorce (you are responsible for paying court filling fees).  The fee also includes service of process fees. You can make installment payments as your case progresses. It costs $500 to start your matter. Sign up today to get started.

Sign Up to Get Free Download



We respect your privacy. We will never spam you.

Related Posts