How to File for Divorce in Monterey County
Filing for divorce in Monterey, California can be done online or by mail for uncontested matters. Your divorce can be finalized within 6 months from the date the opposing party is served. Read on to learn more about how to file an uncontested divorce in Monterey County and how San Diego Esquire can help you.
Monterey County Divorce Courthouse Location
The Monterey Courthouse hears family law and support cases. All divorce petitions must be filed at this courthouse. The courthouse is located at 1200 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940. The clerk’s office is open from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm. You can file your divorce petition in person at the clerk’s office or online through a web application such as Odyssey File & Serve. If you decide to manage your own divorce, make sure you provide sufficent copies to the court of your signed documents.
Monterey Divorce Residency Requirements
You must meet California’s divorce residency requirements before you file for divorce in Monterey. You must have resided in California for at least six months prior to filling your divorce petition and lived in Monterey County for 3 months. File for legal separation if you don’t meet the residency requirements.
Uncontested Divorce Court Forms
You must complete the following forms to start the divorce process in Monterey:
- FL 100 — here is a video on how to prepare FL 100.
- FL 105 — here is a video on how to prepare FL 105.
- FL 110 — here is a video on how to prepare FL 110.
Check the court’s website to see if you need to complete any Monterey court local forms. File your divorce petition with the court to open your case. You will need to serve the filed petition, court summons, and financial disclosure on your spouse. You must have a neutral third party serve the documents.
Monterey County Uncontested Divorce Process
Once the initial petition, summons, and preliminary financial discosure is served on your spouse, you will need to wait 30 days to see if your spouse will file a response with the court. For an uncontested matter, if your spouse does not file a response, you can request a default judgment with or without an agreement. If your spouse files a response, after you receved their financial dislosure, you can enter into a written agreement to submit along with your judgment. We highly recommend you enter into a marital settelment agreement if you have a signifiicant amount of debt or assets.
Hiring a Monterey County Divorce Attorney to File for an Uncontested Divorce
Hire an experienced divorce attorney to complete your divorce. You can work with a legal document specialist but they aren’t allowed to provide you with legal advice. Working with an attorney can ensure less errors and shorten the divorce process.
SD Esquire Flat Fee Divorce Service
SD Esquire provides flat fee uncontested divorce services. We will prepare the legal documents you need to file for and complete your divorce. This includes preparing and filling your divorce petition, completing your financial disclsoures, and drafting your marital settlement agreement (MSA). Our uncontested flat fee divorce service starts at $1500 for standard divorce (you are responsible for paying court filling fees). The fee also includes service of process fees. You can make installment payments as your case progresses. It costs $500 to start your matter. Sign up today to get started.